Lletty's Blog

Croeso! Welcome to Lletty Cottage a lovely five star holiday cottage for two in Carmarthenshire

February 28 Is it a Redpoll? February 28, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — lletty @ 7:44 pm
Tags: ,

Just in the garden today and trying out my new camera and I spotted some different birds on the feeder. I’ve looked them up on the RSPB site and think they are Redpolls but not sure…any ideas?

P1000206

Is the bird on the right a Redpoll- it has a red head?

P1000208

P1000221

This one is on the left. It has a bit of a red chest  and a red head.

P1000222

Just wish I could understood my camera  so I could get clearer photos. I will get better!!

 

7 Responses to “February 28 Is it a Redpoll?”

  1. Tina Scarrott Says:

    Defiantly a Red Pole Marianne.

    • lletty Says:

      Thanks Tina..they are back on the feeders again today, hopefully you’ll see them when you come to stay. The Canada Geese are making friends with the moorhens at the moment…all go here! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

  2. Marie Says:

    I have never seen a redpoll but I will look it up in my bird book and let you know

  3. Marie Says:

    Yes, after looking in my bird book, it looks like a redpoll to me!

    • lletty Says:

      Thanks for that Marie. I can’t believe how lucky we are to have seen them. Yesterday we had long tailed tits …they must have heard about the food bank in our garden!

  4. tootlepedal Says:

    Definitely a redpoll.

    • lletty Says:

      Thank you for your comment. The redpolls are still with us and their chests and heads are much redder now. I’ve just taken a quick peek at your blog- love the photos and look forward to reading more about your cycling trips. Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

